The Power of the Game for Pretend Doctors

I work as a Clinical Engineer, a part of that role is in providing technical support for electrically powered medical equipment and devices. One area in which I work is in an Eye Clinic.

When we work in specific technology areas, as Clinical Engineers we are often very involved with instruments that are not perhaps electronic and that do not fit strictly into the realm of clinical engineering. We often find ourselves in discussions with clinicians regarding problem-solving for particular tricky procedures. A deeper understanding of the clinical procedures may be useful.

In among the endless discussion of the merits of various video games, my 11-year old son described to me how to insert a pacemaker. It was really quite impressive. So I followed up, and I have just removed a cartoon cataract – using instruments I have often discussed but was not fully familiar with their function. My son advises me that I can also do laser surgery.

The game has just invited me to do heart surgery.

These games are free, they are simplistic but they offer a very valuable modern tool to Clinical Engineers, perhaps young people thinking about a career in healthcare, and anyone who might be having one of these procedures. I just googled: Eye Surgery Game to find games, and one leads to another.

These games obviously provide absolutely no medical training but they are great for helping you understand procedures which you or a friend or relative may need to undergo.

But they are also fun and represent another little light-hearted benefit the internet has brought us.

Published by

Meabhy

I am a Clinical Engineer who has worked in the acute hospital sector for many years. I know how little bottlenecks in a hospital's processes can cause delays. I know the magic of different professional groups working together to solve problems. I am passionate about using low cost, right-in-front-of-you technology to help us own our own health and to make hospitals work better.

Leave a comment